A Few Questions from a Beginnner...

Started by ShatteredEssence, September 26, 2016, 06:10:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
September 26, 2016, 06:10:22 PM Last Edit: September 26, 2016, 06:13:22 PM by ShatteredEssence
My interest in aLttP has been sparked once again after playing through the randomizer version of the main game, (has anyone
here tried it? There are some pretty cool play throughs you can get out of it.) and I am now enthralled with the idea of
trying to create my own Zelda adventure. After playing through a bit of Mystery of Solarus DX, tRotH, and Tunics!, I
anticipate that Christopho has made quite a powerful engine in which the customization of different mechanics is vast and
exciting. I have looked through a good handful of guides posted to the YouTube channel, and the tutorials are clearly done
and informational.

I have a few questions though, if I may ask.

I have no experience in coding, especially in lua, but am interested in learning so that I may be able to set up my own
systems in Solarus. I had taken a short, very basic coding course at one time in college, but it was nothing more than
explaining the very basics like logic.. if, if else, else, loops. Nothing detailed there, so you can consider me starting
from scratch here. I have compiled the lua console correctly, I hope, as I am able to run the .exe, and have it show Lua
5.3.3 Copyright (c) blah, blah, blah on the top line. I have having a bit of trouble getting started with the booklet,
however. What should I use to write my own scripts? Is Notepad++ acceptable? Any .lua files I've tried to drag and drop
onto the executable just open and closes in a flash, without time to read what was even on the window. Is there a better
interpreter that I could use to practice with? Perhaps something with an embedded editor, and a run button? Visual Studio
has something like this when learning C++. Probably isn't necessary, but it would save time. Any recommended tutorials to
get started with?