Author Topic: High CPU usage.  (Read 2049 times)

Thalassius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
High CPU usage.
« on: April 16, 2016, 11:02:54 am »
Hi!  :)

Running Solarus at my system (dual proccessor Athlon 5GHz), stacks cpu usage at 100% resulting in overheating after a few minutes.

My primary system is Linux (Mint 17.3 x64 KDE) and Solarus takes 50%  and while it's running, Xorg also takes >30% and some other proccesses (eg. plasma) also taking  many cpu cycles, so my system is always at 100% while Solarus is running.  :o

I also tested Solarus at Win 10 x64. The high cpu usage still occurs, but it isn't so intense.
Still needs a ~ 70% of cpu cycles.  ???

Is it normal or something went wrong here?
TIA!  :)
G.
I grow old, ever learning many things. Solon.

zutokaza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Active - Making stories can take the most time.
    • View Profile
Re: High CPU usage.
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2016, 04:34:34 pm »
I use Solarus v1.4.4 and this does not happen to me on Ubuntu Precise Cinnamon environment. It did happen to me on Linux elementary OS Luna (based off of Ubuntu precise).  It might have to do with your theme or skin. When running Gimp on Ubuntu it lagged like crazy until I changed the Dark theme. Themes can cause leaks with applications and that is what is happening or maybe a glitch. Windows beyond XP or 7 are still bugy.

Thalassius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: High CPU usage.
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2016, 07:15:00 pm »
I use Solarus v1.4.4 and this does not happen to me on Ubuntu Precise Cinnamon environment. It did happen to me on Linux elementary OS Luna (based off of Ubuntu precise).  It might have to do with your theme or skin. When running Gimp on Ubuntu it lagged like crazy until I changed the Dark theme. Themes can cause leaks with applications and that is what is happening or maybe a glitch.
Hmm..... ???
I'm using KDE (not a GTK based desktop), so I doubt that changing the skin, will actually help.
An...yes! Ubuntu LTS is based on Debian beta, so there are many glitches!
Some time I'll have to return to the stable Debian version, I just don't have the time to install everything from the beginning, right now.

Windows beyond XP or 7 are still buggy.
I agree, but since my main system is the Linux one, I'm still leaving Win 10 to be (instead of installing a better earlier version). The only use of Win for me, is for games.  :)
I grow old, ever learning many things. Solon.

zutokaza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Active - Making stories can take the most time.
    • View Profile
Re: High CPU usage.
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2016, 11:24:17 pm »
Testing a different version of Solarus might lead to a solution or maybe on another computer. Possibly Oracle virtualbox with Linux images if you want to go all out. That way you can report to Christopho if there is a hardware issue or windows version leak. It might be a leak he needs to patch.
http://www.solarus-games.org/downloads/solarus/win32/

« Last Edit: April 16, 2016, 11:38:33 pm by zutokaza »

Thalassius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: High CPU usage.
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2016, 12:04:01 am »
Oh good idea!!!  :)
I'll do it and I'll be back!

For the time being, as I mentioned earlier, the Win 32 version runs with ~70% of my cpu occupied (at win 10 x64 and at Linux Mint with Wine v.1.7.55 (the latest Wine version available for Ubuntu LTS)).
G.
I grow old, ever learning many things. Solon.

zutokaza

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Active - Making stories can take the most time.
    • View Profile
Re: High CPU usage.
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2016, 07:26:05 am »
Also, I use 32 bit. That might help narrow down the leak.

You can use PlayOnLinux to install different versions of wine without affecting your .wine directory. wine 1.4.0+ might lead to a fix too.