Window Freezes, No Logo

Started by spilkerg, March 05, 2016, 05:37:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic
I'm new to Solarus and I've been following the video tutorials. I stopped halfway through the second one and made a few small maps. I continued and watched the rest of it and then edited the main.lua script accordingly so my game could run. Every time I try to run it, the new window pops up but it's just black. Nothing happens at all, not even the logo. I'm tearing out my hair trying to figure out what is wrong. Any suggestions? Help?

Is there an error message or an error.txt file?

No. I looked everywhere for one and none showed up.

Could you post a copy of your main.lua script? So we can help you find if there is something wrong.
"If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you. But if you really make them think, they'll hate you."

function sol.main:on_started()
  print("This is a sample quest for Solarus.")

sol.language.set_language("en")

local solarus_logo = require("menus/solarus_logo")

sol.menu.start(self, solarus_logo)
  solarus_logo.on_finished = function()
    local exists = sol.game.exists("save1.dat")
    local game = sol.game.load("save1.dat")
    if not exists then
      game:set_starting_location("Start")
    game:start()
    end
  end
end

In your code, if the savegame aready exists, the command game:start() is not being called. That might be the problem, but I am not sure if there is some more problem in your logo script.
"If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you. But if you really make them think, they'll hate you."

March 06, 2016, 05:51:44 AM #6 Last Edit: March 06, 2016, 05:54:44 AM by spilkerg