Author Topic: Issues Running on Windows 8  (Read 1997 times)

hkeeble

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Issues Running on Windows 8
« on: March 19, 2015, 06:22:06 pm »
Hi all,

I'm having some issues running a quest via the command line in Windows 8. As I understand it, the Solarus executable simply takes an argument pointing to the root directory (where the data folder can be found) of a quest in order to run. Therefore, from any directory, I assumed the following would work:

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\user> <Path/To/Solarus/Executable> <Path/To/Quest/Folder>
However in Windows 8, this seems to do nothing (there is not output). The same thing seems to happen if I change to the solarus executable directory, and then run:

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\user\Desktop\Solarus\solarus> solarus.exe <Path/To/Quest/Folder>
The only way I can get the quest to run is by putting the quest in the same directory has the executable and running:

Code: [Select]
C:\Users\user\Desktop\Solarus\solarus> solarus.exe .
I want to be able to run Solarus via an external program, which itself launches a cmd instance and passes in the Solarus path followed by a quest path. The only other option that would work would be to run the Solarus executable directly and not through a cmd, passing in the quest path. However as I explained above, the quest will only run when both executable and quest are in the same folder. Is there something I'm missing here?

Christopho

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • View Profile
Re: Issues Running on Windows 8
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2015, 08:47:41 pm »
This is strange, it seems that you are doing the right thing. I am not a windows expert but It works on my machine (Windows XP…). Did you try with slashes or backslashes?

hkeeble

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Issues Running on Windows 8
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2015, 09:43:53 pm »
Found the issue! It doesn't seem to like being passed a path that contains spaces for the quest path.  :)

EDIT:
One quick question (didn't seem worth a whole new topic), is there any way to get console output from Lua in Solarus on Windows? As soon as the application launches, the console awaits a new command (it doesn't seem to 'couple' with the application, as it does in Linux) and any "print" commands from scripts go ignored.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2015, 10:09:32 pm by hkeeble »

Christopho

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
    • View Profile
Re: Issues Running on Windows 8
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2015, 09:28:58 am »
Unfortunately no, unless you recompile Solarus with the appropriate flag. But making the console available on windows without recompiling is planned  for a future release.