Is it possible to make the hero face the cursor?

Started by Mr Shiek, August 16, 2018, 11:22:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic
Hello, Solarus World.

I have been learning Solarus through the online tutorial series by Christopho. It has been incredibly helpful. However, there are many things in my current project that are not covered in any of the tutorial videos and I've not been able to find any info on them online. The API has also been incredibly helpful but I admit I lack a complete understanding of Lua and so I may not fully understand everything as written in the API (for instance, I had trouble with the drawable:draw_region()...the two sets of coordinates confused me, but I figured out through practice what they meant). I am very new to using it but I have been quickly picking things up and reading through previously posted links on this forum for Lua learning resources.

The problem I am facing right now is my face_cursor script. I wanted to allow the player to change their character's facing direction by moving the mouse around on the screen (and add support for joysticks as well). Essentially, I'm looking to make it behave similar to a two stick shooter game. Is this possible in the engine as it stands? I will attach my script, which is just supposed to be a proof of concept, for your scrutiny..

local function init_cursor_info(game)        --Local Function encapsulating lesser functions and pulling 'game'.

local map = game:get_map()
  local hero = game:get_hero()
  local h_x, h_y, h_L = hero:get_position()
  local h_dir = hero:get_direction()
  local c_x, c_y = sol.input.get_mouse_position()
  local c_dir

--The following function should update cursor coordinates continuously.
  function game:cursor_update()

local nc_x, nc_y = sol.input.get_mouse_position()

if nc_x == c_x and nc_y == c_y then
      return
    else
      c_x = nc_x
      c_y = nc_y
    end

return true

end